Eros the Bittersweet

Eros the Bittersweet

Regular price
$13.95
Sale price
$13.95
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

A book about love as seen by the ancients, Eros is Anne Carson's exploration of the concept of "eros" in both classical philosophy and literature. Epigrammatic, witty, ironic, and endlessly entertaining, Eros is an utterly original book.


--

Selected by the Modern Library as one of the 100 best nonfiction books of all time.


A book about romantic love, Eros is Anne Carson’s exploration of the concept of “eros” in both classical philosophy and literature. Beginning with, “It was Sappho who first called Eros ‘bittersweet.’ No one who has been in love disputes her,” Carson examines her subject from numerous points of view, creating a lyrical meditation in the tradition of William Carlos Williams’s Spring and All and William H. Gass’s On  Being Blue.

Epigrammatic, witty, ironic, and endlessly entertaining, Eros is an utterly original book.

“Anne Carson is a rare talent−brilliant and full of wit, passionate and also deeply moving.” —Michael Ondaatje

Anne Carson is the author of Glass, Irony and God; Autobiography of Red; The Beauty of the Husband; Men in the Off Hours; and other books.